My Family Christmas Traditions

Hello Viewers

Zurich Rebecca Bollwitt via Compfight

Does your family have Christmas traditions? Well my family has a lot. One of the major ones is having Christmas at my Grandma’s house in Coquitlam because that is were most of our family lives. I really like that tradition because I get to see a lot of my family. Another one is the fondue with my Nana and Pa. A fondue is when you get to cook your own food in oil or broth. My favourite is the cheese dip. My Nana and I always have to try one shrimp each because we hate them. We also have rules. The rules are you can’t have two forks in the same pot at once. You have to use the right forks for the right pots, and put the right foods in the right pots. If you break a rule you get a fon-don’t and if you get three fon-dont’s you don’t get any more food, but we never end up following that rule. My sister usually announces the rules but this year she is in Toronto for her dance so I have to announce the rules this year. My favourite part is the chocolate pot. Once were all done we bring out a chocolate pot. We dip banana, cake, strawberries, raspberries, and orange slices. There are also sprinkles to dip the food in. My favourite is the strawberries. The last tradition is my sister and I get to open one present on Christmas Eve. It is always pyjamas so we can sleep in them on Christmas Eve. I like that tradition because I don’t have pyjamas that fit me around Christmas. What are your family traditions?

~James

7 thoughts on “My Family Christmas Traditions

  1. Hi James,
    Some of my family traditions are that we break at least one ornament every year. (Not on purpose.) We always watch How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Garfield Christmas and Mickey’s Christmas Carol the day we get the tree. We also have eggnog, speculaas cookies and crudy-noodies. They are actually not called that but the first time my older sister read that name, that’s what she said. Those last two things are Dutch and we love to have them. I think that is all the traditions we have but I think your traditions are cool. You should bring me sometime because I’ve never had fondue before.
    ~Eli

    • Hi Eli
      Our family never breaks an ornament until this year. We also watch how the Grinch stole Christmas but not Garfield’s Christmas or Mickeys Christmas Carol.
      -James

  2. James, I just love the sound of this family tradition–especially the fon-don’t rules. It must feel like the torch is being passed to you now that it is your turn to announce the rules. I think I would like the chocolate the most, too.
    Have a wonderful break with your family,
    ~Ms. Smith

    • Hi Ms. Smith
      It definitely feels like the torch is being passed on. I have not practiced a lot but my grandparents could not come over because of the snow. When they will come over my sister will be here so she will announce the rules. Hope you have a great break with your family.
      -James

  3. Hi James,
    I am on the blogsite huzzah.edublogs.org. We have many family Christmas traditions. Every Christmas, we make cookies and go to the movie theater on Christmas Eve. The theater is usually empty.
    Do you have fondue any other time of the year?
    -Quinn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *